Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Spellforce 1 » General discussion




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 548
Originally posted by shanakar at old forum:

Hi all. I have found a fix without using any third party software that fixes the resolution and widescreen of Spellforce. I've tested it on my Asus N53SV laptop running windows 7 just now and it works for me.

I'm running 1366x768 resolution and this fix will make the game window mode so you will have to find a resolution suitable for you in window mode, this just means changing values I will detail below until its the size you want it to be.

STEP 1: Go to your game directory which is usually located at C:\Program Files\JoWOOD\SpellForce for Winxp users and C:\Program Files(x86)\JoWOOD\SpellForce.

STEP 2: Right click on the config.lua file and select Open With. Through the new window select to open with a program from your computer. If all programs are not showing then click on all programs in the list and it will show more. Then select to open the file with WORDPAD. DO NOT USE NOTEPAD!!! I can't stress this enough, notepad at first will show the data all jumbled while wordpad will have it all clean.

The data you will see will look like this...

Code:
Stored =
{
   LastPlayedAddOn = "a",
   LastPlayed = "A",
}
UserInterface =
{
   SkipTutorial = 0,
}
Graphic =
{
   AvoidExcessiveFrameBuffering = 0,
   VSync = 1,
   FlatShades = 1,
   EffectLightmap = 1,
   EnvironmentMapping = 1,
   AdornMode = 2,
   ObjectFadeDistance = 75,
   ShadowType = 1,
   TextureQuality = 3,
   Filtering = 0,
   ScreenResolution = 3,
}

You need to add two simple lines under ScreenResolution which are...

WindowWidth = 1350,
WindowHeight = 690,

You can change the numbers to the resolution you want but REMEMBER, the game will load in a window mode which means you need to set it a bit lower. My resolution is 1366x768 so you can see above the res is lower to fit on the screen as it won't be above your taskbar.

The end result of the file should look like this...

Code:
Stored =
{
   LastPlayedAddOn = "a",
   LastPlayed = "A",
}
UserInterface =
{
   SkipTutorial = 0,
}
Graphic =
{
   AvoidExcessiveFrameBuffering = 0,
   VSync = 1,
   FlatShades = 1,
   EffectLightmap = 1,
   EnvironmentMapping = 1,
   AdornMode = 2,
   ObjectFadeDistance = 75,
   ShadowType = 1,
   TextureQuality = 3,
   Filtering = 0,
   ScreenResolution = 3,
   WindowWidth = 1350,
   WindowHeight = 690,
}

STEP 3: Once you have done step 2, save the file, create a shortcut on your desktop if you have not done so already, right click on the shortcut on your desktop and select properties.

STEP 4: In the shortcut tab you will have a section called TARGET which shows the directory your game is in. At the end after the " you need to type -window

So it will look similar to this

Code:
"D:\Games\SpellForce Platinum\SpellForce.exe" -window
Once you have done this, apply, save it, it may give you a warning that you need to be administrator permission so just accept that. Run the game, if the resolution needs tweaking, exit the game, open your config.lua file and tweak the values on the width and height and run the shortcut again and keep doing this until you find the value that is right for you.

I've just gotten this to work on my Asus N53SV laptop running Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit so I hope this helps the rest of you! Hopefully moderators will see value in this thread and make it a sticky. ENJOY!

_________________
Tempus et vita, tempus et mortis


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 548
also I found this method (don't know if it's working with SF):

In the shortcut tab you will have a section called TARGET which shows the directory your game is in. At the end you need to type:

Code:
-xres=1366 -yres=768


full path it should be something like this:

Code:
D:\Games\SpellForce\SpellForce.exe -xres=1366 -yres=768

_________________
Tempus et vita, tempus et mortis


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Real widescreen fix
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:12 pm
Posts: 4
hi guys
first of all u guys r doing a great work by keeping this forum alive and providing cool stuff;
im realy enjoying playing Sf again with the new gamedata and maps u made, wich is great
and much appreciated.
back to the topic, whenever i had an "appetit" to play Sf again, i always search in net for any new widescreen tweak or fixes with no avail, used autohotkey with -window method, it was good but not good enough, especially the health bar problem beside some minor graphical glitches; however this time after searching again i found a realy great fix in this topic
http://www.wsgf.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.ph ... 9&start=10
a user named Jackfuste made an exe (actualy many exe, depends on res) wich works great except for one issue, after cutscene the graphic will get streched again however this can be fixed by either relaunching the game or go to menu and change res then change it back (Resolution 1280x1024 changed to widescreen)
well, thanks to Jackfuste for this fix, and thanks to u guys aswell.
keep up the good work.

Greetings.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:45 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 235
Thanks for sharing, did you try to go to options, change and change back res if it fixed
the problem without having to exit SF ?

_________________
Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:12 pm
Posts: 4
you are most welcom, yes going to the menu and changing the res solved the cutscene issue, btw forget to mention the provided fix is for platinum 1.54, no idea if it will works with other release or ver.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 235
Ok, now i'm tempted to try it out, but first,
if i'm unhappy with it, can i easily go back to standard resolution 1280x1024 ?

_________________
Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:12 pm
Posts: 4
u'll have to put your original exe back, but believe me it really makes the game looks great.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 235
I tried it, but i can't tell the difference compared to 1280x1024 standard.
I also didn't get that distortion after cut scene, it was like always.

Maybe its because i have my monitor to always run 1440x900,
so i had it already ?

_________________
Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:12 pm
Posts: 4
hmm; thats strange, the differance between the real 1280*1024 and the modified one is HUGE
and btw im playing on the same res as u (1440*900), try again when u copy the modified exe and replace the original one, u should get a message asking u to overwrite the original exe or not maybe ur exe have another name so by copying the new one u still have ur old exe (and by runing the game from the shortcut wich point to the old one, so u wont get the modified res), or maybe u selected 1280*1024*16?; well i doubt that but maybe :p; when i tried it i could tell the difference without even starting a game, the menu font became clearer sharper, anyway as i said u should see a huge difference and the game looks realy awesome.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 235
here is a german patch for it, works with any language according to neeruk
http://www.validstrategies.com/filebase ... x#overview

_________________
Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » Spellforce 1 » General discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
www.000webhost.com